Loose forward Facundo Isa was a shock omission from the 31-man Argentina Rugby World Cup named Monday by coach Mario Ledesma in Buenos Aires.

Rodrigo Bruno, considered by many to be an outsider, was included ahead of Isa. Bruno is among 26 players from Super Rugby runners-up the Jaguares who are named in the 31-man squad.

Ledesma told reporters: “I wanted to give priority to those playing at home over those based abroad. Contrary to what sections of the media thought, Facundo was not a certain choice.”

Two Argentina-based non-Jaguares were chosen, along with two based in France, flyhalves Nicolas Sanchez and Benjamin Urdapilleta, and prop Juan Figallo from English club Saracens.

Jaguares flank Pablo Matera will captain the squad.

Coach Ledesma is a former Pumas hooker who played in four consecutive World Cup tournaments between 1999 and 2011. In 2019 loose forward Juan Manuel Leguizamon equals that record of four World Cup tournaments after making the squad for Japan.

Argentina World Cup Squad


Rodrigo Bruni (Jaguares), Javier Ortega Desio (Jaguares), Marcos Kremer (Jaguares), Juan Manuel Leguizamon (Jaguares), Tomas Lezana (Jaguares), Pablo Matera (Jaguares, captain), Matias Alemanno (Jaguares), Tomas Lavanini (Jaguares), Guido Petti (Jaguares), Agustin Creevy (Jaguares), Julian Montoya (Jaguares), Santiago Socino (Jaguares), Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro (Jaguares), Juan Figallo (Saracens), Santiago Medrano (Jaguares), Enrique Pieretto (Jaguares), Mayco Vivas (Jaguares)


Emiliano Boffelli (Jaguares), Joaquin Tuculet (Jaguares), Santiago Carreras (Jaguares), Bautista Delguy (Jaguares), Ramiro Moyano (Jaguares), Jeronimo de la Fuente (Jaguares), Juan Cruz Mallia (Jaguares), Lucas Mensa (Pucara), Matias Moroni (Jaguares), Matias Orlando (Jaguares), Nicolas Sanchez (Stade Francais), Benjamin Urdapilleta (Castres), Tomas Cubelli (Jaguares), Felipe Ezcurra (Hindu)