Namibia’s head coach Phil Davies has announced his 31-man squad for the Rugby World Cup in Japan.

Namibia heads its fifth World Cup appearance looking for  first ever win in the tournament.

Johan Deysel will captain the squad, while Tjiuee Uanivi is vice-captain.

There are some major surprises in the squad, particularly the omission of Renaldo Bothma, Chrysander Botha and Casper Viviers who were all in the 2015 World Cup squad. 

Namibia Squad For Rugby World Cup


Andre Rademeyer, Nelius Theron, Desiderius Sethie, A J de Klerk, Johannes Coetzee, Obert Nortje, Louis van der Westhuizen, Torsten van Jaarsveld, Tjiuee Uanivi, Johan Retief, Thomasau Forbes, Rohan Kitshoff, Max Katjijeko, Prince !Gaoseb, Wian Conradie, P J van Lill, Adriaan Booysen, Janco Venter 


Cliven Loubser, Helarius Kisting, Damian Stevens, Eugene Jantjies, Darryl de la Harpe, Johan Deysel, Justin Newman, J C Greyling, Johann Tromp, Chad Plato, Lesley Klim, Janry du Toit, P J Walters