Eight survivors from Russia’s last (and only) Rugby World Cup campaign will be present in Japan after being named in Lyn Jones’ 31-man squad for Rugby World Cup 2019.

Vasily Artemyev, Victor Gresev, Yuri Kushnarev, Evgeny Matveev, Vladimir Ostroushko, Denis Simplikevich, Andrei Garbuzov and Andrei Ostrikov all played in New Zealand at RWC 2011.

Their Russian campaign for a first Rugby World Cup win will begin against hosts Japan in Tokyo on the opening night and then the Bears will play Samoa, in Kumagaya on 24 September; Ireland, in Kobe on 3 October; and Scotland in Fukuroi six days later.

Only two of the 31 players selected for Russia currently ply their trade outside of Russia. 

Second-row Ostrikov left Sale Sharks at the end of last season to sign for French side Grenoble, while prop Valery Morozov is still on the books of the English Premiership club.

Russia Rugby World Cup squad

Forwards (18)

Azamat Bitiev, Andrey Garbuzov, Kirill Gotovtsev, Victor Gresev, Bogdan Fedotko, Vitaliy Zhivatov, Evgeny Matveev, Andrey Polivalov, Vladimir Podrezov, Evgeny Yelgin, Stanislav Selsky, Nikita Vavilin, Sergey Chernyshev, Tagir Gadzhiev, Roman Khodin, Andrei Ostrikov, Valery Morozov, Anton Sychev

Backs (13)

Vasily Artemyev (captain), Igor Galinovsky, Kirill Golosnitsky, Vasily Dorofeev, Yuri Kushnarev, German Davydov, Dmitry Perov, Vladislav Sozonov, Dmitry Gerasimov, Ramil Gaysin, Denis Simplikevich, Vladimir Ostroushko, Sergey Yanyushkin