South African-born wing DTH Van der Merwe is on his way to his fourth World Cup after being named in Canada’s 31-man squad announced yesterday.

Tyler Ardron was named captain of Canada’s 31-strong squad for the Rugby World Cup. Ardron plays his rugby for the Chiefs in New Zealand.

The 28-year-old lock and no.8, who has played 33 Tests, leads the Canadians at the World Cup for the second time.

The Canadian squad is made up of veterans and emerging talent, most of whom play for teams in North America’s Major League Rugby professional competition.

Canada World Cup Squad:


Tyler Ardron (Chiefs-capt), Kyle Baillie (New Orleans Gold), Justin Blanchet (unattached), Hubert Buydens (unattached), Luke Campbell (Toronto Arrows), Matt Heaton (Rugby ATL), Eric Howard (New Orleans Gold), Jake Ilnicki (Seattle Seawolves), Cole Keith (Toronto Arrows), Conor Keys (unattached), Evan Olmstead (unattached), Benoit Piffero (Blagnac), Andrew Quattrin (Toronto Arrows), Lucas Rumball (Toronto Arrows), Djustice Sears-Duru (Seattle Seawolves), Mike Sheppard (Toronto Arrows), Matt Tierney (Castres)


Nick Blevins (Calgary Hornets), Andrew Coe (Markham Irish), Jeff Hassler (Seattle Seawolves), Ciaran Hearn (unattached), DTH van der Merwe (Glasgow Warriors), Ben LeSage (Calgary Canucks), Jamie Mackenzie (Toronto Arrows), Phil Mack (Seattle Seawolves), Gordon McRorie (Calgary Hornets), Peter Nelson (unattached), Shane O’Leary (Nottingham), Pat Parfrey (Toronto Arrows), Taylor Paris (Castres), Conor Trainor (Nevers)