US Eagles head coach Gary Gold has finally announced his 31-man squad for the Rugby World Cup, missing World Rugby’s deadline for submission of the list by three days. They are the last of the 20 participants to announce their squad.

A number of the squad have experience of playing at this level, while – captain and winger Blaine Scully, prop Eric Fry and centre Thretton Palamo – are going to their third Rugby World Cup tournament.

The squad features two Rio 2016 Olympians in Martin Iosefo and Ben Pinkelman.

Pinkelman is the least experienced member of the squad with just the two caps to his name, while the most-capped player is Scully, who made his 50th test appearance for the Eagles in Saturday’s narrow 20-15 win over Canada.

The Eagles will play England, France, Argentina and Tonga in Pool C.

USA squad for RWC 2019


David Ainu’u, Malon Al-Jiboori, Nate Brakeley, Nick Civetta, Cam Dolan, Dylan Fawsitt, Eric Fry, Hanco Germishuys, James Hilterbrand, Olive Kilifi, Tony Lamborn, Titi Lamositele, Ben Landry, Paul Mullen, Gregory Peterson, Ben Pinkelman, John Quill, Joseph Taufete’e.


Blaine Scully (captain), Nate Augspurger, Marcel Brache, Bryce Campbell, Shaun Davies, Ruben De Haas, Will Hooley, Martin Iosefo, Paul Lasike, AJ MacGinty, Will Magi, Thretton Palamo, Mike Te’o.