“No prophet is accepted in his own country.”

On Wednesday the English Premiership celebrated the best of the best in their 2018 season. The Premiership Rugby Awards annual ceremony was held at the Royal Lancaster Hotel.

At the end of the gala evening, the Master of Ceremonies, Marti Bayfield announced the BT Sport Dream Team for 2018. Two (three, if we include an ex-South African…) South Africans were honoured by being named in the BT Sport Dream Team of 2018.

Both Willie le Roux and Faf de Klerk were named in the Dream Team, which included another ex- South African Don Armand.

The team is:

BT Sport Dream Team: 15. Willie Le Roux (Wasps); 14. Vereniki Goneva (Newcastle), 13. Rob Horne (Northampton), 12. Matt Toomua (Leicester), 11. Josh Adams (Worcester), 10. Danny Cipriani (Wasps), 9. Faf De Klerk (Sale); 1. Ellis Genge (Leicester), 2. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter), 3. John Afoa (Gloucester), 4. Calum Green (Newcastle), 5. Ed Slater (Gloucester), 6. Jamie Gibson (Northampton), 7. Don Armand (Exeter), 8. Sam Simmonds (Exeter)

Other awards included Newcastle Falcons Vereniki Goneva being named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season, beating Danny Cipriani of Wasps, Don Armand of Exeter Chiefs, Sale Sharks’ Faf De Klerk and Jamie Gibson of Northampton Saints to the prize.

The Falcons Dean Richards was named Ricoh Director of Rugby of the Season .