SA Rugby Referee Awards 2017

The SA Rugby Referee’s Society held it’s annual Pat-Ourselves-On-The-Back Awards ceremony recently.

Chairman of the SA Rugby Referees’ Society, Steve Meintjes, made presentations to members who had achieved exceptionally.

The following awards were presented:

Life Membership

– Gabriel Pappas, the long-serving member of the Golden Lions Referees’ Society, was made an honorary life member of the Association.

Ratel Awards

Ratel Awards were made for those who did something outstanding, for example making tough decisions and sticking to them, despite criticism.

Recipients of Ratel Awards

– Kobus Wessels, a referee on the sidelines who pointed out to the referee that there was an All Black on the field whose name was not on the team list.

– Stuart Berry for his obvious support of Jaco van Heerden when Van Heerden was refereeing his semifinal Currie Cup match between the Golden Lions and the Sharks at Loftus Versfeld.

– Marius van der Westhuizen and Willie Vos, referee and TMO when the Pumas played the Cheetahs and they correctly allowed a player in touch to knock the ball back in the field of play for a try to the Pumas.

Referees’ Referee of the Year

– Craig Joubert

Most improved Referee of the Year

– Quinton Immelman

Referee with Exceptional Performance in 2014

– Jaco van Heerden

Conspicuous in it’s absence was no award for being the TMO Of The Year as there were simply no candidates for this award.

Nor was any award made for Cock-Up Of The Year, nor one for the Most Yellow Cards in a match or in a season as Jaco Peyper had an unfair advantage – he can actually count and knows exactly how many he has dished out. He marks his car door with little yellow rectangles like a fighter pilot in WW2 marked the fuselage of his airplane. (His car resembles a New York taxi and might be in breach of some copyright or other…)