Springbok Stalwarts To Miss Remainder of Rugby Champs.

Rassie Erasmus has confirmed that Damian de Allende, Lukhanyo Am, and Makazole Mapimpi will miss the final two Tests of the 2018 Rugby Championships due to injury.

He also confirmed that Willie le Roux and Francois Louw have returned to their English clubs after the pair were available for the Springboks in the first four tournament Tests. They will not feature in the two home Tests.

17 of the 2018 Springbok players will meet in Port Elizabeth on Friday when they will start their preparations for the final two Tests of the 2018 Rugby Championships. Others will join the squad once they have completed their provincial games this weekend.

“We are still keeping an eye on a number of players who we would like to involve in the coming weeks, but we would first like to see them get through their provincial matches this weekend,” said Erasmus.

 “The players had a brief break after returning from New Zealand and I’m sure they will return fresh and energised for the last two matches,” added Erasmus.

“While we lost a couple of players to injury, we are looking forward to possibly welcoming back some others who have been playing for their provinces and recovered from injury. The two home matches will give us more time to work together as a group, to build on continuity and increase our depth.”

Springbok Training Squad:

Forwards (10): Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Franco Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, RG Snyman, Warren Whiteley

Backs (7): Faf de Klerk, Aphiwe Dyantyi, André Esterhuizen, Elton Jantjies, Cheslin Kolbe, Jesse Kriel, Handré Pollard